Appendix DEnd‐of‐Life Care Working Group membership

The Committee formed a Working Group to consider end‐of‐life care services. The End‐of‐Life Care Working Group (EoLWG) included the members listed in Table 11.

Table 11. End‐of‐Life Care Working Group members

Name Position/Organisation Interests declared
A/Prof Jane Tolman
Associate Professor of Aged Care at the Wicking
Dementia Research and Education Centre at the
University of Tasmania
Dr Michael Ben‐Meir* Director, Emergency Department, Cabrini
Chair, Private Practice Committee, Australasian
College for Emergency Medicine
Dr Andrew Holt Deputy Director and Supervisor of Training,
Department of Critical Care Medicine, Flinders
Medical Centre
Director, Critical Care Unit, Flinders Private
Director, Intensive Care Unit, Ashford Hospital
Director, South Australian Home Parenteral
Nutrition Unit
Senior Lecturer, School of Medicine, Flinders
Chairman, Medical Advisory Committee,
Adelaide Community Healthcare Alliance
A/Prof Andrew Turner Director, Department of Critical Care Medicine,
Royal Hobart Hospital
Ms Eileen Jerga AM* Consumer Representative None
Dr Matthew Anstey* Intensive Care Specialist and Director of ICU
Research, Sir Charles Gairdner Hospital
Medical Advisor, Australian Commission on
Safety and Quality in Health Care
Board Member, Choosing Wisely Australia
Dr William Lukin Staff Specialist, Emergency Medicine, Royal
Brisbane & Women’s Hospital
Advanced Trainee in Palliative Medicine, Royal
Brisbane & Women’s Hospital
Prof Imogen Mitchell Acting Dean, Medical School, Australian
National University
Staff Specialist Intensive Care Unit, Canberra
Organisational Unit Member, Canberra
Hospital Campus
Organisational Unit Member, Acton Campus
Researcher, Critical Care and Emergency
Prof Ken Hillman Head, Department of Physiology and Sleep
Medicine, Sir Charles Gardiner Hospital
Clinical Professor, University of Western
Dr Philip Hungerford Clinical Superintendent, Tamworth Rural
Referral Hospital
Former Director of Critical Care, Tamworth
Rural Referral Hospital
Emergency Specialist and Palliative Care
A/Prof Sally McCarthy
(Committee Chair)*
Senior Emergency Physician, Prince of Wales
Medical Director, Emergency Care Institute
Clinical Lead, NSW Whole of Hospital Program
NSW Health
Former President, Australasian College for
Emergency Medicine

*Also a member of the Committee.

It is noted that the majority of Committee members share a common conflict of interest in reviewing items that are a source of revenue for them (i.e., Committee members claim the items under review). This conflict is inherent in a clinician‐led process, and having been acknowledged by the Committee and the Taskforce, it was agreed that this should not prevent a clinician from participating in the review.

The EoLWG developed recommendations regarding the provision of services by Emergency and Intensive Care Specialists in relation to defining goals of care for patients. These recommendations are included in Section 4.2 – Emergency Department attendance items and Section 5.6 – An item for goals‐of‐care services provided by Intensive Care Physicians. The Committee unanimously endorsed the recommendations.